Physician duties · PharmD · North Carolina

Signing for a Pharmacist in North Carolina: what the physician takes on

The agreement is mandatory for the clinician, which makes its duties mandatory for you. North Carolina calls the instrument a Written Collaborative Practice Agreement.

Practice authoritySupervision required
Written agreementAgreement required
What North Carolina calls itWritten Collaborative Practice Agreement
Governing boardNorth Carolina Board of Pharmacy
Agreement familyCollaborative Practice
Research date2026-08-12 · clauses 2026-09-03

Represents NC's expanded 'Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner' (CPP) tier, not ordinary pharmacist licensure — base dispensing and statutory limited authority need no physician agreement and are out of scope here. CPP scope is permanently CPA-based, with no independence pathway. Qualification: BPS board certification, an ASHP-accredited residency plus 2 years' experience, or an approved certificate program. S.L. 2025-37 (eff. Oct. 1, 2025) removed the prior numeric cap on CPPs per physician — now 'any number' deemed supervisable — and reduced CPA review.

What you take on as the physician

The rules the physician relationship has to follow. Each fact comes from the statute or board rule listed under sources.

Proximity

Not codified — left to the agreement

Supervision ratio

Not codified — no cap on file

Chart review

Not codified — left to the agreement

Meeting cadence

first 6 months of the collaborative practice agreement: Monthly

21 NCAC 46 .3101(f)(6). Modality (in-person vs. telehealth) is not specified.

ongoing, after first 6 months: Every 6 months

If the supervising physician changes, the parties decide whether to restart the monthly-meeting period.

Prescriptive authority

Covered by the practice agreement · controlled substances permitted

Controlled-substance schedule limits are not specified in NC statute/rule for CPPs; a CPP with individual DEA registration may handle controlled substances per that registration — treat as uncertain/not schedule-restricted rather than assuming a specific limit.

Written agreement

Required

Practice ownership (corporate practice of medicine)

Non-licensee ownership permitted — No pharmacist-ownership requirement — pharmacy permits (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90-85.21; 21 NCAC 46 .1601) issue jointly to the owner (who may be a non-pharmacist/corporate entity) and a licensed pharmacist-manager, who must retain professional/operational control over dispensing.

Materially more permissive than the medical CPOM rules governing PA/NP/CRNA/CNM/CNS/RN above. Whether any additional ownership restriction applies specifically to Clinical Pharmacist Practitioner (CPP) practice was not separately confirmed in this research pass.

Legal sources for these rules (5)
The document: Written Collaborative Practice Agreement
What a North Carolina Written Collaborative Practice Agreement must contain, who governs it and who signs: read the Written Collaborative Practice Agreement page on practiceagreement.com.

What physicians charge for this role

Typical monthly compensation in North Carolina

$500$600

Estimate for one Pharmacist. Standard-tier state.

About North Carolina's rules

The NP 'SAVE Act' (full practice authority) has failed every session since 2021, most recently as S.B. 966 (2026) — NC NPs have no independent-practice pathway. PA 'team-based practice' (S.L. 2025-37/H.B. 67) is now LIVE: its June 30, 2026 trigger has passed, regardless of whether NCMB's conforming rules were finished by then. Several categories below (CRNA proximity/ratio/chart-review, CNM proximity) have no codified numeric standard — treat as open items to verify with the board, not an absence of one.

Other clinicians in North Carolina: see the state overview.